FMS principal on education policy panel

First Posted: 8:27 am - October 16th, 2015

Staff Report

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

COLUMBIA – Dr. Robin L. Hardy, principal of Fairfield Middle School, is among 22 professional and civic leaders from across South Carolina who have been selected to participate in the SC Education Policy Fellowship Program (SC-EPFP) for 2015-16.

SC-EPFP is a 10-month intensive professional development program for established and emerging leaders in education and related fields to help equip them in working toward sound education policy and practice in South Carolina.

“In this year’s SC-EPFP class we are fortunate to have some of our state’s most talented and dedicated leaders,” said Robert E. Barnett, associate vice president for Workforce, Education and Manufacturing Policy with the S.C. Chamber of Commerce and chairman of the SC-EPFP advisory board. “Together they will learn new skills, develop added insight, and work collaboratively so they can take positive action to improve South Carolina’s future through meaningful education improvement and reform.”

SC-EPFP Fellows participate in a variety of activities that promote leadership, develop professional networks, demystify education policy, and foster a greater understanding of the roles of government and the community.

Fellows will meet monthly throughout the academic year for full-day dialogues, exercises and group projects, in addition to an overnight in-state Fall Leadership Forum and a four-day Washington Policy Seminar hosted by the Institute for Educational Leadership.

Other members are:

• Jennifer G. Ainsworth, 2015 S.C.Teacher of the Year, Socastee High School, Horry County Schools, Myrtle Beach

• S.C. Rep. Merita A. “Rita” Allison, chair of the House Education & Public Works Committee, District 36, Greenville/Spartanburg counties

• Rhonda D. Caldwell, coordinator, Homework Centers & Business Week for the S.C. Chamber of Commerce, Columbia

• Lisa L. Corning, education & early disability coordinator, Early Head Start/Richland County First Steps, Columbia

• Mary D. “Penny” Cothran, multimedia manager, S.C. Chamber of Commerce, Columbia

• Dr. Baron R. Davis, assistant superintendent, Richland District Two, Columbia

• Don D. Doggett, senior TA Consultant & Program Associate, American Institutes for Research, Columbia

• Dr. Shawn P. Haggerty, director, Specialized Programs, Sumter County Schools, Sumter

• Traci M. Hogan, executive director, Federal Programs for Horry County Schools, Conway

• Col. James P. “Jamie” Houston, U.S. Army, Fort Jackson

• Suzanne T. Koty, 2016 S.C. Teacher of the Year, Center for Educator Recruitment, Retention & Advancement, Rock Hill

• Angela Leon, field account manager, Hewlett-Packard, Lexington

• Kathy F. Maness, executive director, Palmetto State Teachers Association (PSTA), Columbia

• Dr. Christina S. Melton, Chief Instructional Officer, School District Five, Lexington & Richland Counties, Irmo

• Joel M. Mitchell, principal, Williston-Elko High School, Williston District 29, Williston

• Margaret Peach, principal, McCracken Middle School, Spartanburg School District 7, Spartanburg

• Ryan T. Pool, principal, Lexington Middle School, Lexington School District One, Lexington

• Thomas L. Rhodes III, president, Rhodes Graduation Services Inc., Summerton

• Charles J. “Chuck” Saylors, board member of Greenville County Schools and vice president of M.B. Kahn Construction Co., Taylors

• Gregory B. “Gregg” Scott, principal, Woodmont Middle School, Greenville County Schools, Piedmont

• Kimberly M. “Kim” Wiley, School Liaison, Marine Corps Community Services, U.S. Marine Corps, Beaufort

The SC-EPFP operates under the auspices of the national Education Policy Fellowship Program of the Institute for Educational Leadership in Washington, D.C., which oversees Fellowship programs in 16 states and the District of Columbia.

In South Carolina the program is coordinated by the S.C. School Improvement Council, located in the University of South Carolina College of Education, with the assistance of the S.C. Department of Education’s Office of School Leadership.

SC-EPFP is supported by an advisory board providing cross-disciplinary leadership representing the state’s K-12 education, higher education, and business communities.

Visit http://sic.sc.gov/sceducationpolicyfellowshipprogram/Pages/index.aspx for more information on the SC Education Policy Fellowship Program.

Staff Report



Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com